Coconut Jo’s Blog


« Review | Home | Odd Combos »

Rough

Ok, today started off rough.  After everything was said and done this morning I had breakfast, which was a Filipino roll called Pan De Sal.  I put a little smart butter and a slice of American cheese on top.  The cheese is torn in places, because I gave some to Chip :).  He loves cheese!

dsc00627

Then I decided that since I had a rough morning I deserved a treat.  So Hot Chocolate comes into the picture.  I had this.  It was an single pack that came in my Christmas Starbucks basket.

dsc00628

I opened the bag and to my surprise it was little squares of dark chocolate with little peppermint candies in it.  You melt the chocolate in the microwave and then add milk.  It was absolutely amazing.  It’s everything you imagined and more.  Too bad I couldn’t finish it.  I feel like it was wasted on me.

dsc00625

I started to do a rearrange on our bedroom closet and the guest room closet.  It’s a MESS to say the least.  We always just stuff everything in the guest closet when we just don’t know what to do with it.  I started to get hungry so I decided to eat the rest of the soup I made last night.

dsc00624

I really just threw everything together, but it came out pretty good!  Here’s somewhat of a recipe.

  • 1 can Beef Broth
  • 1/4 lb of shrimp
  • 1/4 of an Onion
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • pepper and salt
  • chili garlic sauce
  • fish sauce
  • broccoli and cauliflower mix
  • Pho noodles

First I sauteed the onions and garlic together with olive oil.  Then I threw in half of the broccoli and cauliflower mix I had left.  Once the veggies were tender I added the shrimp.  You could really stop here and add salt and pepper, but I then added a can of beef broth.  I added about 2 cups of water because I like lots of liquid in my soup.  I added the chili garlic sauce in the broth with some fish sauce. Once everything comes to a boil I add the Pho noodles.  Don’t forget that you need to at least have the noodles soaking for about 10 min.  30 min is the best, but I cooked the noodles the rest of the way in the boiling soup.  It’s a easy dish that I threw together with stuff I had on hand.

I really need to go grocery shopping tomorrow.  After the soup I ran to the stores down the street.  First I went into Pier 1, World Market, Bed, Bath & Beyond, and finally to Target.  They were all next to each other and I wanted to see the sales.  I came home with some success in finding organizational tools for our apartment.  I feel so accomplished.  I came home and dropped everything off. Before I headed to the gym I ate a mini Luna Bar.  I ended up walking 1 hr on the treadmill with my Women’s Health magazine.  I think I will subscribe to it, because one copy is $4.99 at Target!

After the gym I was starving.  I debated going to pick something up, but then I decided since I spent so much money today I should try to make something.  I ended up with this.

dsc006311

This is Naan and Chicken Tikka Masala from Ethic Gourmet.  I will defintely be getting this again.  It’s easy and tasty!!  The brussel sprouts are from Bird’s Eye.  This meal wasn’t half bad for a couple minutes in the microwave.  I just ate the other Naan I made for dinner as a snack.

Alrighty, I’m off to bed now.  It’s been a long day….

Leave a Reply

